“It would seem film critics aren’t the only ones who are a little unimpressed with Suicide Squad – Jared Leto is now taking aim at how little he actually featured (appeared) in the movie.”  Buzzfeed

Let’s start at the beginning! Leto was unhappy (upset) because many of his scenes had been cut from the movie. In an interview with BBC Radio, Leto described the process as some of his favourite work – relating excerpt can be read below.

“We really had a magical time. I think the scenes we did on the day, and I understand there’s quite a bit that’s been cut out, but the scenes that we did on the day were some of my favourite work that I’ve ever done with anyone in a film. There’s probably enough footage in this film for a Joker movie. If I were to die tomorrow* maybe that studio would roll something out. A rated-R or rated X performance in there somewhere”

*Reference to Heath Ledger maybe? Who knows – it’s Jared Leto

In an interview with NME, Leto said it might not be such a bad thing that a lot of his scenes were cut – “being in the film so little meant poor reviews weren’t really about him” – relating excerpt can be read below.

“I’ve heard that there’s been a very mixed response… I’m in the film so little that it really has not very much to do with me.” – odd thing to say if you ask us!

BUT! For all his criticism of Suicide Squad, Jared Leto is pretty blunt when it comes to one particular subject – having never seen the (final) movie – relating excerpts can be read below.

“It might be a weird question considering I haven’t seen it” – BBC Radio

“I haven’t seen the movie yet so I don’t know exactly what’s been cut out or not, but I do understand it’s a bit of an introduction to the Joker, it’s a bit more of a supporting part than maybe it could have been if they had used everything” NME

This isn’t new for the Thirty Seconds to Mars frontman. After winning the Oscar for his performance in Dallas Buyers Club, Leto told Ellen he had no plans to see Suicide Squad – relating excerpt can be read below.

“I think one day I will watch it, I’ll be curious at some point. It was such an intense role, it’s better for me just to leave it alone right now.” 

…. The Joker ain’t laughing! He ain’t puddin’ either! ….

Leave a Reply

