Details about the movie have been rather scarce! In a recent interview with EW, director Brad Bird talked briefly about The Incredibles 2 (TI2) – relating excerpt can be read below.

“I don’t like unwrapping presents before Christmas. *It’s very actively moving, and we’re excited about it. We’re trying to take it in some new directions. **Hopefully, it’s the same characters and feel, but going in a new direction. I mean, that’s the trick with a sequel. It’s repeating yourself, without repeating yourself.” 

Bird said many of the base ideas for TI2 were ideas that went unused in the origianl movie – interview with Collider*** – relating excerpt can be read below:

“Oh yeah I have pages, I had a lot of ideas for the original Incredibles that I didn’t get a chance to use, that I like. I have ideas that I wanted to pursue a little bit and there wasn’t enough time in Incredibles. There are new ideas I have, and I think there are enough of those together to make an interesting movie. I’m just focusing on getting Tomorrowland out into the world and play with the Incredibles sandbox again.”

* – Bird confirmed work on the sequel is well underway.
** – Part of what caused so many fans to love the original (The Incredibles – 2004) was its delightful cast of characters, while you will definitely recognise them, Bird is hoping to take them to new places.
*** – Interview took place when project was first announced.

Leave a Reply

